The NBA Releases Redesigned Playoff Awards, Presenting Two New Awards

The NBA Releases Redesigned Playoff Awards, Presenting Two New Awards

Today, the National Basketball Association released its line of newly redesigned trophies, including two completely new trophies and a few new cup names.

The new designs were created in collaboration with artist Victor Solomon and Tiffany & Co. , which are all minor updates to their previous look and create more consistency between trophies representing different levels of achievement across all NBA Playoffs. For example, the two trophies awarded after the NBA Finals are now gold from top to bottom, and the four trophies after the conference finals are silver at the top and gold at the bottom.

Let’s take a look at each one, starting with the top prize, the Larry O’Brien Cup.

Larry O’Brien Award

The Larry O’Brien Cup is awarded annually to the NBA champion. It’s the NBA’s version of the Stanley Cup for ice hockey or the Vince Lombardi Cup from the NFL. His name was changed in honor of O’Brien, a former NBA commissioner, in 1984.

The new design of the 25.5-inch, 30-pound Larry O’Brien Trophy sees some tweaks, giving the prize a sleeker, more modern look. The basketball and net components remain but are now centered within the base and not to one side. The details on the ball and net representing the ball channels and netting are now silver, not fine relief.

The base is now a series of two discs, replacing the single square tier – the top disc contains the names of the first 75 NBA teams, and the lower disc allows enough space for the next 25 teams. This will enable the new cup design to last until the league’s centenary season in 2046. Below the base, under the cup, Brand new, absolutely stunning NBA Finals logo.

Bill Russell Award

Named the 11th (yes 11 times) NBA champion, the Bill Russell Cup has been presented annually to the most valuable player in the NBA Finals since 2009.

The new NBA Finals MVP Cup is still 17.25 inches tall, 11 pounds, but is now fully dressed in crimson gold to match the design of the new NBA Championship Trophy. Like Larry O’Brien, the net and basketball details are now silver rather than engraved. The cup base is also undergoing an update; Black went, silver went, and the NBA Finals went all over gold.

NBA Conference Championship Awards

These two pre-existing cups are getting slightly new designs and entirely new names. The Western Conference Championship Trophy will now be known as the Oscar Robertson Cup, and its Eastern Conference counterpart will take the name Cozy Cup. Both Hall of Fame players served as past presidents of the NBA Player’s Association and won NBA championships and NBA MVPs during their careers.

Both cups retain their basic designs – the west shows a series of rings below the sphere, and the east has three columns. Silver basketball is divided into four sections that symbolize the four steps on the way to the Finals (qualifying to the playoffs and winning the first three rounds). The base of both Trophies is now in Gold with their new names engraved, and the Tournament Team Tour results will be added to this ring. Below the awards are the names of the fifteen teams in the respective conference and the conference championship logo.

Conference Final MVP Awards

Here is your new prize, the NBA Eastern and Western Conference Finals MVP Awards, that will be presented to the player who has been selected, as you would expect, as the most valuable to his team during each conference final series.

The MVP Awards in the conference finals are named after two superstars from the ’80s; It’s the Irvine “Magic” Cup for the Western Conference and the Larry Bird Award for the East. As the league describes it, “the rivalry between Bird and Johnson captivated audiences and played a crucial role in elevating the league to new heights.”

Each MVP in the new conference finals is fourteen inches tall and weighs about five pounds. Both cups maintain the same style under basketball as their conference championships, the Magic Johnson Cup rings and the Three Columns on Larry Bird. Basketball nets are located under each ball, with a net grooved on the sides.

“I am honored to be associated with the NBA Eastern Conference Finals Player of the Year Cup,” Larry Bird said in the NBA press release. “I know how difficult it is to reach such a huge milestone in the Eastern Conference Finals, and being named MVP makes it even more special.”

“The NBA Conference Finals are the final hurdle the team must face to have a chance to reach the big stage, the NBA Finals,” Magic Johnson added. “I am truly honored to be remembered in the Western Conference Finals Most Valuable Player Trophy. This player excels on both ends of the court, makes his teammates better and leads his team to the greatest stage in basketball.”

These new awards will be awarded for the first time during the ongoing NBA 2022 playoffs.

2022-05-12 21:18:52

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *