All defensive teams 2022: The full list of players for the first and second teams

All defensive teams 2022: The full list of players for the first and second teams

For those who vote, picking the All-Defensive teams this season has been a tough choice.

This year, Marcus Smart became the first goalkeeper to win Defensive Player of the Year since Gary Payton won the award in 1996. Payton was at the Celtics training facility to hand out the award to Smart.

The only goalkeeper other than Smart and Peyton who won the award? Michael Jordan. Not a bad company there.

However, there have been other top defensive players this season. Jazz’s Rudy Gobert, who has won three of the last five Best Defensive Player awards, reached the final again this year. Miami’s Pam Adebayo is the defensive backbone of his team, and Michael Bridges is one of the best ocean defenders in the entire league.

There were standout players like Fred Van Vliet from Toronto, too. There will always be someone offended or a player that fans feel has been cruelly left out, but that’s the way it goes with the vote.

Below is the complete list of picks for the All-NBA First and Second Division Defensive Teams.

MORE: TSN’s Stephen Noh cracked his unofficial NBA ballot

Defensive first team

location player a team
J Marcus Smart Boston Celtics
J Michael Bridges Phoenix Suns
F Garen Jackson Jr. Memphis Grizzlies
F Giannis Antikonmo Milwaukee Bucks
c Rudy Gobert Utah Jazz

Defensive second team full

location player a team
J Jrue holiday Milwaukee Bucks
J Matisse Thibault Philadelphia 76ers
F Robert Williams III Boston Celtics
F Draymond Green Golden State Warriors
c Pam Adebayo Miami Heat

How are defensive teams selected?

Points on NBA All-Defensive teams are awarded to the top ten defensive players in the league at the end of each season. The player is included in either the first or second team lineup, where each team consists of two goalkeepers, two strikers and a center.

Sites in lineups are voted on by a global group of 100 writers, broadcasters, and members of the media who cover the NBA. Each “first team” vote is scored with two points, while each “second team” vote is worth only one point.

The goalkeepers, attackers and midfielders with the most points are placed in the first team. The players are then placed in those positions with the second highest total score on the second team.

Until the 2014-15 season, the league’s head coaches decided to select defensive teams before they were opened to members of the media from around the world.

2022 NBA Awards Winners

Most Valuable Player finalists

  • Nikola Jokic, Nuggets (Winner)
  • Giannis Antikonmo, bucks
  • Joel Embiid, 76

general newbie andinalists

  • Scotty Barnes, Raptors (winner)
  • Kid Cunningham, Pistons
  • Evan Mobley, Cavaliers

Defensive Player of the Year andinalists

  • Marcus Smart, Celtics (Winner)
  • Michael Bridges, Suns
  • Rudy Gobert, Jazz

Sixth man of the year andinalists

  • Tyler Hero, Heat (Winner)
  • Cam Johnson, Suns
  • Kevin Love, Cavaliers

Most advanced player finalists

  • Ja Morante, Grizzlies (Winner)
  • Darius Garland, Cavaliers
  • Degonte Murray, Tottenham

general coach andinalists

  • Monty Williams, Suns (winner)
  • Taylor Jenkins, Grizzlies
  • Eric Spoelstra, Heat

2022-05-21 00:31:33

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.